When you create an offer, you decide whether or not to turn on auto-renew for the offer, and specify a maximum number of renewals to allow, which must be less than or equal to the maximum number of renewals that Cloud Marketplace allows. For details on how this maximum number of allowed renewals is computed, see Maximum number of renewals allowed, below on this page.
Customer control over automatic renewal
Turning on auto-renew for an offer doesn't renew the order by itself. It only lets your customer decide whether the order renews:
When your customer accepts the offer, the auto-renew checkbox under Turn on auto-renew is cleared by default.
After accepting the offer, your customer can turn auto-renew on or off at any time from the Your orders page.
If your customer never turns on auto-renew, the order doesn't renew at the end of its term. Depending on the pricing model, the subscription either ends or continues at list prices.
If you don't turn on auto-renew for the offer, your customer can't turn it on.
If auto-renew is turned on when a subscription reaches the end of its current term, and the subscription has one or more remaining renewals, that subscription renews for another term.
Maximum number of renewals allowed
The maximum number of renewals that Cloud Marketplace allows for a private offer depends on the number of installments remaining for that offer. If you create an offer that fails during offer validation, we recommend that you reduce the number of allowed renewals and try again.