This page describes how to manage a [volume replication](https://docs.cloud.google.com/netapp/volumes/docs/protect-data/about-volume-replication#about_volume_replication).

## View replication details

The following table describes the different states in a volume replication:

<br />

| Transfer status (mirrorState) | Overall state |
|---|---|
| Preparing | The volume replication is created and the initial replication operation begins and is in progress. <br /> The amount of transferred data displays in Google Cloud console. Status updates occur in five minute increments. |
| Mirrored | The volume replication is created and the volume replication operation is completed. |
| Transferring | The volume replication is created and an incremental replication operation is in progress. The amount of transferred data displays in Google Cloud console. Status updates are provided in five-minute increments. |
| Stopped | The volume replication was stopped by the user, which allows the destination volume to become writeable. <br /> The size of the destination volume is set independent of the source volume. This state is required if you want to permanently delete a volume replication relationship. |

<br />

Use the following instructions to view replication details of the source or
destination volume using either the Google Cloud console or Google Cloud CLI.

### Console

1. Go to **NetApp Volumes page** in the Google Cloud console.

   [Go to NetApp Volumes](https://console.cloud.google.com/netapp/volumes)
2. Click **Volumes**.

3. Click the name of the source or destination volume.

4. Select the **Replication tab**.

   If the volume is part of a replication, details of the replication appear.

Google Cloud console displays the names of the source and destination volumes. The
partner volume's name appears as a clickable link which directs you to its
volume details page. For cross-project replication, the link to the partner
volume doesn't work. You need to navigate to the partner volume manually.

### gcloud

View the details of a replication using the following command:

```bash
   gcloud netapp volumes replications list \
      --project=PROJECT_ID \
      --location=LOCATION \
      --volume=VOLUME_NAME
```

Replace the following information:

- `PROJECT_ID`: the name of the project your volume is
  in.

- `LOCATION`: the location of the source or
  destination volume.

- `VOLUME_NAME`: the name of the source or destination
  volume.

For more options, see [Google Cloud SDK documentation on volume replication](https://docs.cloud.google.com/sdk/gcloud/reference/netapp/volumes/replications).

## Edit a volume replication

You can change the replication schedule of the source volume in a replication
relationship.

Use the following instructions to edit replication details in the
Google Cloud console:

1. Go to **NetApp Volumes** page in the Google Cloud console.

   [Go to NetApp Volumes](https://console.cloud.google.com/netapp/volumes)
2. Click **Volumes**.

3. Click the source volume. The **Details page** appears.

4. Select the **Replication tab**.

5. Select **Edit replication**.

6. In the **Edit replication** dialog, update the **replication schedule**
   field.

7. Click **Save**.

## Delete a volume replication

When you delete a replication, it removes the replication relationship between
the source and destination volume. After the replication deletes, both volumes
continue to exist independently with the current data they contain.

### Considerations

When you delete a replication, NetApp Volumes also deletes the
common replication snapshots of source and destination volume. You can't resume
a replication relationship for the two volumes again but you can create a new
replication with either of them. When you create a new replication, it
creates a new destination volume as part of the process.

### Delete a replication

Use the following instructions to delete a replication using the
Google Cloud console:

1. Go to **NetApp Volumes** page in the Google Cloud console.

   [Go to NetApp Volumes](https://console.cloud.google.com/netapp/volumes)
2. Click **Volumes**.

3. Click the name of the volume you want to delete.

   The **Details** page appears.
4. Select the **Replication** tab.

5. Make sure that the **Replication status** is set to **Stopped** . For
   instructions about how to stop a replication, see [Stop a replication](https://docs.cloud.google.com/netapp/volumes/docs/protect-data/stop-or-resume-replication#stop_a_replication).

6. Click **Delete volume replication**.

7. In the **Delete volume replication** dialog, enter the name of the
   destination volume.

8. Click **Delete**.

## What's next

[Stop or resume a replication](https://docs.cloud.google.com/netapp/volumes/docs/protect-data/stop-or-resume-replication).